A Penman’s Lifeblood

Why did the pig have ink all over his face? Because it came out of the pen!

Sorry for the less than original punchline, but this post warranted a joke about ink, of which there aren’t many clever ones out there. (If you know any better ones, tell me in the comments 😉 )

So I realized that it has been a little more than a month since I started my blog, and in my first post, I had mentioned that I would do ink reviews. 7 posts later, and still nothing regarding the ink. I would like to apologize to have kept all of you waiting, and want to say that I am going to rectify this situation immediately. I ordered some ink samples from Goulet Pens 2 days back, and they just came in the mail today. I say “some”, but that wouldn’t be the word others would use to describe this haul.

It's too beautiful for words

It’s too beautiful for words

IMG_0077

Varying brands and colors

IMG_0078

A little bit of everything

IMG_0081

I love it when the light hits the ink perfectly

For those of you who want to know the exact list of the inks, here you go:

  • Diamine Oxblood
  • J. Herbin Eclat Di Saphir
  • J. Herbin Poussiere de Lune
  • J. Herbin Gris Nuage
  • Iroshizuku Yama-Budo
  • Iroshizuku Shin-Kai
  • Noodler’s Apache Sunset
  • Noodler’s Bad Blue Heron
  • Noodler’s Blue Eel
  • Noodler’s Liberty Elysium
  • Noodler’s 54th Massachusetts
  • Organics Studio Arsenic
  • Organics Studio Blue Merle
  • Organics Studio Edgar Allen Poe
  • Pelikan Edelstein Tanzanite
  • Rohrer & Klingner Scabiosa

I’m sure you all recognize at least a few names on this list. Since I am relatively new to reviewing inks, you might see my review style change as I try to find the one that is most effective. Look forward to new ink reviews every week! I hope you all are as excited as I am to try out these beautiful and expressive colors!

I encourage my readers to share their thoughts in the comments below on which one I should review first. I wanted to start a poll but there are too many options. Comment away my friends!

One thought on “A Penman’s Lifeblood

Leave a Reply

