Iroshizuku Yama-Budo Review

Happy Fountain Pen Day!

I would like to express my gratitude to all my readers and followers for encouraging me from the start to keep this blog going. I’m feeling a lot of stress now that it is transfer application time, and I’ve been bogged down with so much homework. Every time I get an email from Facebook or Twitter that says “_____ is following you” or “____ likes your page” it makes me happy that my efforts to put out good reviews are being appreciated by the pen community. One thing that I would like to mention is that I rarely ever see you guys commenting on posts, so I really don’t know whether I’m going about this correctly. I’ve always tried to engage my readers but it doesn’t seem to work. So I would appreciate it if you guys could leave your comments on this post in honor of this great day. I am very prompt with replies, and would love to hear what you guys have to say.

P.S. I will edit this post with my ink review around 3:00 tomorrow. I have to leave for school now, but in the mean time, check out the Fountain Pen Day website for inspiration on how the international fountain pen community is celebrating today.

IMG_2773 IMG_2774 IMG_2775

Yama-Budo is a color I have been dying to try out, and I knew from the first post I published on my blog that it was the first ink review I wanted to do. The script is basic Copperplate that I have been practicing.

I have to say, when I first saw pictures of Yama-Budo in action, I wasn’t immediately wowed like I was with Kon-Peki. The color was “meh” (not too bad, not amazing either). The lighting made the ink look several shades lighter than it turned out for me. After scouring reviews from other pen blogs, I noticed that it is a characteristic shading property of this ink. The thinner the nib size, the brighter it looks. With my extra fine flex nib it was noticeably darker, a shade which suits my taste perfectly. This is not too bad though, as it opens up areas of experimentation with ornamental lettering. Several different shades ranging from magenta to wine colored purple makes Yama-Budo a very good ink for sketches or drawings.

As the ink flowed out of the pen onto the paper, for some reason it seemed dry to me. So I cleaned the pen out, loaded it up with some Kon-Peki, and it was smooth as butter. For some reason, Yama-Budo seems a little less lubricated than I would like, as I require smooth strokes to properly write. The ink does make up for less lubrication with very good behavior onΒ  standard Rhodia paper, although there was quite a bit of ghosting, which had more to do with the pen I was using than the ink. Nevertheless, something to look out for if wet noodle flex pens are your passion.

Dry time was around 15 seconds, and there was a just a little smudging for me, again, more to do with the pen, but I’m surprised at how fast it dried considering how much ink I put down on the paper.

Overall, Yama-Budo is another classic Iroshizuku ink, well behaved, vibrant colors, nice shading, and decent dry time. This is one ink that I wouldn’t hesitate to splurge on if I have the money. Before doing so, I would suggest that all of you buy ink samples first to test it out in the pens you use, as ultimately it is your experience of the ink’s performance that counts.

3 thoughts on “Iroshizuku Yama-Budo Review

  1. Pingback: Sunday Notes and Links | Fountain Pen Quest

  2. Thanks for putting this review up – a great-looking ink, and the handwriting is pretty impressive too!

    My first Iroshizuku ink is on the way (Tsuke-Yo, I think!). Am looking forward to seeing how it flows in my pens, before looking at purchasing any more…

    • Thank you so much for the kind words. All the Iroshizuku colors are a must try for me, this was just the beginning of a long trial run where I will go through ink samples like nobody’s business. Tsuki-Yo was something I have been wanting to try, but I already had too many blue ink samples in my cart. Perhaps next time. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

