Pilot Hi-Tec-C 0.4mm Review

FullSizeRender

It’s finally here! Hot off the press. The legendary Pilot Hi-Tec-C, the pen praised by almost all my friends and pen enthusiasts out there. This one is another part of my JetPens haul that I couldn’t wait to try out. Surprisingly, me and this pen got off to one of the rockiest starts I’ve ever had with a new pen. I tried writing a few words to test out the writing experience on 3 different papers. On the first one (Rhodia Dot Pad), the ink didn’t come out, so I tried scribbling for about 15 seconds, and nothing happened, so I thought maybe Rhodia paper was too smooth for this pen. Then I tried my Maruman notebook I use in school, still nothing. I finally got tired and decided to try Google-ing, my problem to see if I was the only one. I found that many people had rough starts, but it got better in a couple of minutes, so I tried one last time, on Doane Paper.

Cap Close Up

Lo and behold, on my third test, it magically started flowing like the Amazon. It took me a while to get used to the feel of the nib as I formed the letters, and for some reason it felt pretty weird. After an initial warm-up period, this pen is turning out to be one of the best gel ink pens I’ve tried. When I use it with a ruler (which I often do, I make a lot of charts) it produces really nice, dark, sharp lines. While I still hold the Pentel Energel XRT as my benchmark, and favorite gel ink pen, I feel the Pilot Hi-Tec-C is coming in at a close second.

Leave a Reply

