Pilot Petit3 Brush Pen Review

DSCF2174

Is is weird that this pen gave me flashbacks to high school? Well, something you might not know about me, is that in high school, my foreign language of choice was Japanese. My parents were bewildered by why I would choose Japanese, but being the loving, supporting people they are, they encouraged me to follow whatever inclinations were telling me to take Japanese. I never really discussed the real reason I chose to take Japanese, but now that high school is in the past, I can finally come clean. I wanted to learn Japanese to be able to understand unsubbed anime, and read untranslated (raw) manga. In hindsight, it seems like aΒ  really impractical reason to learn a whole new language and writing system. Not to mention, I was learning for a grade, so grammar, vocabulary, dialects, styles of talking was the material that was stressed. Manga and anime, depending on content, mix a whole lot of talking styles and dialects, so I pretty much had to watch hours upon hours to really learn how to comprehend a conversation. Well, all four years of hard work paid off, and today I’m able to read, write, and speak a decent amount of Japanese.

DSCF2176

There were 5 levels of Japanese at my high school: Japanese 1, 2, 3, 4 (Honors), and 5 (AP). I went all the way to AP Japanese, which I felt was one of the biggest accomplishments in my academic career (I was really struggling with kanji). As part of an exercise in culture, we made some sumi ink, and practiced Japanese calligraphy by writing our own haikus. So writing with the Pilot Petit3 didn’t feel weird at all. For the study material, we had to read a lot of classic works, such as excerpts from Murasaki Shikibu’s Genji Monogatari (Tales of Genji), and poems written by Matsuo Basho, the greatest haiku master from the Edo Period (1603 – 1868). While we read his works we were asked to translate and interpret our own unique meaning of his words. Out of all the quotes we read and interpreted, this one stuck with me the longest, so I decided to share it with you guys.

In romaji, (romanized Japanese) it reads: “kojin no ato wo motomezu | kojin no motometaru no tokoro wo motome yo”. Translated, it means: “Seek not the paths of the ancients | Seek that which the ancients sought” or “Do not seek to follow in the footsteps of the wise, seek what they sought”. The meaning really stuck to me, and I try to follow these words of wisdom everyday in whatever I do. I often find myself wanting to drop everything, and travel around the world, on a quest to find meaning/wisdom that will help me define how to live my life. While it is definitely on my to-do list, I have too many obligations to do so. Well, one can always hope.

P.S. Sorry for all the unnecessary background info, you guys came here for my review, not my personal history, so I rewrote it, and all my impressions about the pen can be seen in the first picture. I’ll try not to bombard you guys with my personal stuff next time. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Pilot Petit3 Brush Pen Review

  1. Thanks for putting this up online – and please don’t apologise for including personal history! I lived in Hong Kong for about 6 years of my childhood, and one of my enduring regrets is that I didn’t learn to speak Chinese (or Mandarin), let alone write…

    On to the pen, though: I have a Petit1 (the fountain pen) and find it a nice little throwaway pen – though I may well keep it for a while and see how it copes with being refilled! Do you think the brush pen is worth it for someone who just wants to muck around a bit with it – or would you recommend something else as a first port of call?

    • Hey jamerelbe,

      Wow, I’ve always wanted to visit Hong Kong! That sounds like a great experience to have. Remember, it’s never too late to learn something new, especially a language.

      Regarding the pen, I feel it’s a nice intro to brush pens because it’s small and like the petit 1, it’s a throwaway, because it’s not for everyone. It’s the perfect, cheap pen you can get to muck around. The colors all look beautiful and bright. However, it’s a little weird when it comes to setup. If you choose to get it, and have trouble setting up, just comment again and I’ll tell you what I did.

  2. wow. good for you. i have always been a big fan of japan and all the country has to offer. having visited the country, i found it to be the best foreign country i have visited. i once taken an introductory class in japanese language. unfortunately, i made it only as far as the first semester. i applaud you for committing to learning it as part of your college degree. it is NOT an easy language to learn.

    my dream is actually going to japan to solely focus on visiting pen shops. from what i have read on FPN, many seem to have done it. i wonder if there is a need to know some japanese to do so.

Leave a Reply

