Pentel Energel Euro Needle-Point Review

Hey guys, well it has been a long while, but I have finally recovered enough to start posting up new reviews and other content.

I feel that I have to properly make up for the wait time, so I’ve decided, I’ll post 2 more reviews this week, for a grand total of 3 reviews! I still have to finish reviewing some miscellaneous stuff from my old JetPens haul, so look forward to that. Without further ado, let’s do this!

DSCF3095

The Pentel Energel Euro Needle-Point. The moment I saw “Pentel Energel”, I knew I had to try it out. With the amazing experience I had with the last Energel I used, I had high expectation for this one. After four months of everyday, intense usage, I can tell you that this pen passed with flying colors. It had the perfect balance between sharp lines, consistent ink flow, and smooth writing. I wrote up a handwritten review so you guys can see how sharp the lines are.

DSCF3091

As you can see, I was pleasantly surprised by how long this pen has lasted. Like a fine wine, it improved with age. The tip smoothed out after 2 weeks, so I didn’t even bother using any other pen. It performed well on all 4 types of paper I tested it on: Rhodia, Maruman, Doane, and standard copy paper. The ink, while being highly lubricated and dark, didn’t present any signs of bleed-through, but on the Doane pad, and copy paper, it exhibited a decent amount of show-through.

DSCF3099

The grip is something I could talk about all day. While the grip of a pen seems like a small part of what makes it a decent writing instrument, it actually has a huge effect on performance. This grip in particular, has got to be one of the best I have ever tried. It’s the same grip from the Pentel Energel ballpoint I previously reviewed, but just a little bit slimmer. While being slim, it definitely doesn’t under-perform in any way. I can easily use this for hours at a time, and the sweat doesn’t make me falter.

Overall, this pen can give the Pilot Hi-Tec C a run for its money. There’s a lot of similarity in the writing experience, and I feel that anyone who loves the Hi-Tec-C, will also come to appreciate the Energel Euro Needle-Point. Try it out, and see for yourselves!

Leave a Reply

