Sakura Pigma Micron 005

After searching through my blog post by post. I suddenly realized that I didn’t have a Sakura Pigma Micron review. After brief moments of incredulity as to how this situation came to be, I set out at light speed to fix this lapse of content.

DSCF6013

The Sakura Pigma Micron can best be described as a marker/felt tip pen. There are many ways that the Pigma Micron is used (coloring, sketching, lettering, etc). It is available in a variety of tip sizes and vibrant ink colors that are all archival quality (waterproof and fade proof). I have been using my 0.2mm orange on and off for almost 5 months now.

DSCF6016

The body is made of plastic, but don’t let that fool you. While being light, it is by no means fragile. I have dropped this pen both purposely and accidentally on a variety of surfaces. Concrete, marble, tile, asphalt, and wood. Can you see any wear and tear in the picture? That itself is indicative of the durability of the Pigma Micron.

DSCF6018

Onto the grip section. While not providing any notches/texture of any kind to aid grip, the pen manages to almost never slip out of my hand. I was pleasantly surprised, as this was an aspect of the pen that I was a little concerned about when I was picking it up. However, despite how moist my hands got, it didn’t slip even once. While I did have to readjust a couple of times during extended writing sessions, it was nothing too noticeable.

DSCF6023

Another positive aspect of this pen is that it can be posted securely. When posting, you hear an audible and satisfying click that signifies that your cap isn’t going anywhere. I have tried many times to dislodge the cap, and it is difficult at best. So rest assured, if you’re obsessed about posting your pens (like me), then the Sakura Pigma Micron definitely has you covered.

DSCF6020

Around 3 months after purchase, I started having a couple of issues. The tip tended to give inconsistent line widths depending on how I held the pen, and by this I don’t mean the writing angle, but just rotation of the tip. I also experienced interrupted ink flow on down strokes that I had to go back and fill in. While it lasted quite long, from the get go, I felt that the tip was a touch too brittle for my taste. I always had to modify my writing pressure to avoid breaking it, so if you have a heavy hand, I wouldn’t recommend this pen. Regardless of pressure, the pen laid down a  pretty consistent line when it was still just a couple months old. While deterioration in the writing experience is to be expected as time goes on, I didn’t think that it would be as abrupt as it was.

DSCF6024

Leave a Reply

