Pentel Pocket Brush for Calligraphy

Let’s continue review blitz week with a drawer-dweller I excavated in the name of Spring cleaning.

DSCF7036

When I first though about getting a brush pen, I decided that I wanted one that could be flexy and soft. The reason those were my conditions was because of all the amazing Instagram videos I watched of people using brush pens for their calligraphy. I was drawn to how due to the softness of the bristles, the letters became so much more expressive. They absolutely swelled in width and really gave way to some cool design ideas in my brain. I went straight to JetPens, went to the brush pen section and got the best selling brush pen at the time. I was excited to get started in brush pen calligraphy and then it came.

DSCF7038

From the moment I started writing with, I knew there was no way I could control it. The bristles were way too soft for a beginner like me, and I felt disappointed. I tried countless times to adjust my pressure and use that to form the letters I wanted, but every single time, the bristles just immediately gave out. Frustrated, I put this into my drawer and there it laid ever since. It wasn’t until a couple of weeks back that I got it out for my Rhodia Graph Pad paper review. I wanted to test the paper for feathering and a brush pen seemed like the best tool to do so. I still found it hard to control, but all the calligraphy drills and exercises I’ve been doing have payed off. The light touch that I’ve been trying to develop finally gave some semblance of comfort. However, I still have a long way to go until I can purposefully use this pen for any calligraphy whatsoever.

DSCF7039

The design is simple and elegant. Completely utilitarian and no nonsense. The pen is made up of only 3 pieces. The body the brush section and the cap. On the cap, the only non branded embellishment is a kanji character in silver. On the opposite side, there is the Pentel branding in silver, making it glint off the black pen cap. The clip is functional and slightly springy, allowing for easy removal from a pen case or shirt pocket.

DSCF7042

Now on to the bristles. While I previously mentioned that I had a lot of trouble handling this pen, this is not a bad pen. I would like to clarify that it is due to my lack of skill that I can’t utilize this brush pen to it’s full potential. There are many rave reviews on JetPens, most likely from people who can properly use it and they all feel that it is a good brush pen. All I can say is, if you’re looking for a hard and firm brush then this isn’t the pen for you. If you’re looking for an expressive, responsive and very consistent pen then look no further.

DSCF7043

The pen comes with two standard black Pentel ink cartridges. The ink is very nice and deep black. However, I have noticed that it tends to feather on some papers. Keep in mind that with a bristles this soft, sometimes just the slightest amount of pressure can lay down a huge line. Other than that, it works perfectly with the pen and I can’t wait to experiment running some fountain pen ink through it.

Overall, I would recommend this pen to anyone who wants a soft and expressive brush pen. I would not recommend it to beginners like me looking into getting started with brush pen calligraphy. So I’m going to take the advice of some of my favorite calligraphers and start with something hard and firm and graduate slowly to this one. Thanks for reading and as always, write on, my friends.

Leave a Reply

