Huy Hoang Dao Oblique Holder 2

Review 2/3

 

 

popped-flange

I remember a while back when I published the first oblique holder review on my blog and featured a Huy Hoang Dao holder that I had bought nearly a year back. Since then, I had a bit of an accident. While trying to adjust my flange, the glue gave in and the flange popped right out of the holder. Worried about the integrity of the wood, I promptly emailed Hoang about it and inquired what I could possibly do to revive it. As my first holder, it holds a lot of sentimental value that I just couldn’t get myself to let go of. Hoang got back to me and recommended me to get it fixed by Chris Yoke, given that I was based in Indiana now.

dscf9017

 

In a completely surprising twist of events, he told me that since I had last ordered, his pen making skills had gone through considerable improvement and that I deserve a better pen, so he would send me one for free. He really didn’t need to and it wasn’t necessary, but Hoang took matters into his own hands and decided to send me a new one for free(!). It was amazing to see how sincere he is towards his customers and his passion towards his craft. I was absolutely inspired by him to really pursue my practice with more gusto than I thought I was capable of. So for the last couple months practicing exclusively with the one he sent.

dscf9018

The very first thing I noticed were the beautiful contours of the holder. While the shape was very similar to my previous one, the thin profile really made it seem much more delicate and refined. If put right next to each other, one can see a quantum leap in the lines of the wood and how thorough Hoang was with the respective processes that made this pen look and feel absolutely stunning in my hand. All around another stunning holder by Hoang and something that I will be using for a long time. Hoang is putting some amazing holders up for sale and I would advise anyone in the market for a tastefully designed, well-made oblique holder at a price that won’t make your wallet cry, check out his online store.

Disclaimer: I have not been compensated in any way for my review and have written my impartial observations and thoughts for your reading pleasure.

2 thoughts on “Huy Hoang Dao Oblique Holder 2

  1. i have only recently tried an oblique pen holder, as an attempt at calligraphy. my… it certainly is different from a regular fountain pen. i find an oblique pen holder helps in getting the hand movement better. hope this holder stays with you for a long time and better your penmanship in no time.

    • I’m trying to get that practice in as much as possible and it has indeed really helped. I had trouble with it in the beginning too, but you get used to it quick. Check out the IAMPETH site under the lessons section on how to hold an oblique holder, it really helped improve my grip and allowed for better comfort as I wrote.

Leave a Reply

